Uploaded image for project: 'Nuxeo Studio'
  1. Nuxeo Studio
  2. NXS-3255

Allow to enable / disable temporarily a feature

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Type: Improvement
    • Status: Resolved
    • Priority: Minor
    • Resolution: Fixed
    • Affects Version/s: None
    • Fix Version/s: 66
    • Component/s: Studio Features

      Description

      As a user, when I am editing a feature, I can see a toggle button.

      • This toggle button is placed in a consistent manner, e.g. next to the feature name.
      • Clicking that toggle button switches the feature state from enabled to disabled and vice versa.
      • By default the feature state is "enabled" when I create it.

      When the feature is switched to the disabled state:

      • The feature is saved:
        => in simple mode, this generates a commit and push just as if I pressed the save button.
        => in intermediate / advanced mode, this acts as if I pressed the "save work in progress" button. The user needs to commit / push manually.
      • In the feature screen, a message tells me "This feature is currently disabled. It will not be available when deploying your configuration, and Studio will behave as if it doesn't exist."
      • An overlay prevents me from changing the feature.
      • A visual indicator on the left tree lets me know that this feature is disabled (add a class on each disabled feature in tree + styles).
      • Nuxeo Studio acts as if the feature does not exist and displays validation errors on the features that depend on the disabled one. Exactly as if I deleted the feature.
      • The feature is not available anymore in the bundle generated by Nuxeo Studio.

      When the feature is switched to the enabled state:

      • The feature is saved:
        => in simple mode, this generates a commit and push just as if I pressed the save button.
        => in intermediate / advanced mode, this acts as if I pressed the "save work in progress" button. The user needs to commit / push manually.
      • The overlay disappears and I can change the feature again.
      • In the left tree, the feature style is back to normal.
      • Nuxeo Studio acts as if the feature exists and does not display a validation error on features depending on it (e.g. if I reactivate a chain that is triggered by a user action, the user action does not display an error message anymore).
      • The feature is available in the bundle generated by Nuxeo Studio.

      This feature impacts:

      • Branding
        => The "Disable theme branding" option should be removed, as this feature replaces it.
      • Users & Groups Definition
        => The "Disable users and groups definition" option should be removed, this feature replaces it.

      WARNING: This feature will also be used to see if a feature has many links and relations or not, to see if you can remove a feature without breaking your application

        Attachments

          Issue Links

            Activity

              People

              • Votes:
                0 Vote for this issue
                Watchers:
                3 Start watching this issue

                Dates

                • Created:
                  Updated:
                  Resolved:

                  Time Tracking

                  Estimated:
                  Original Estimate - Not Specified
                  Not Specified
                  Remaining:
                  Remaining Estimate - 0 minutes
                  0m
                  Logged:
                  Time Spent - 1 day
                  1d

                    PagerDuty