Uploaded image for project: 'Nuxeo Drive '
  1. Nuxeo Drive
  2. NXDRIVE-2047

Unlock updates on the centralized channel when auto-update is disabled

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Type: Improvement
    • Status: Resolved
    • Priority: Major
    • Resolution: Fixed
    • Affects Version/s: 4.2.0
    • Fix Version/s: 4.4.2
    • Component/s: Application update
    • Release Notes Summary:
      Auto-Updates using the centralized channel
    • Release Notes Description:
      Hide

      Updates are now unlocked on the centralized channel when auto-update is disabled.

      Auto-updates are now allowed/forced when those parameters are met:

      • the update_check_delay option is set to 0;
      • the channel option is set to "centralized";
      • the client_version option is set.

      This is required for IT teams wanting to control which version of the application to deploy.

      Show
      Updates are now unlocked on the centralized channel when auto-update is disabled. Auto-updates are now allowed/forced when those parameters are met: the update_check_delay option is set to 0 ; the channel option is set to "centralized" ; the client_version option is set. This is required for IT teams wanting to control which version of the application to deploy.
    • Tags:
    • Backlog priority:
      300
    • Sprint:
      nxDrive 11.1.28
    • Story Points:
      3

      Description

      Current Behavior

      Let's assume the auto-update channel is set to centralized.

      There are currently 4 possible scenarii:

      1. auto-update is enabled and client_version is not set
      2. auto-update is enabled and client_version is set
      3. auto-update is disabled and client_version is not set
      4. auto-update is disabled and client_version is set

      Cases 1, 2 and 3 are already handled correctly.

      Case 4 is not yet handled and is a requirement for IT teams that want to fully control the version deployed everywhere.

      They (IT teams) have no real full control because enabling auto-update and setting a client_version in the server config will work until a newer version is released. Then Drive will auto-update to the newest version at the next start, because the auto-updater will do the check before having time to retrieve the server config.

      Workaround

      The workaround is to enable auto-update and set the client_version into the local config. As the local config has the priority over the server one, this will keep the user on the desired version.

      Long-Term Solution

      A fix would be done in several steps:

      1. Allow to auto-update when auto-update is disabled and the channel is set to centralized.
      2. On such scenario, do not prompt the user for the installation but install the new version directly. This would prevent updates not taken into account by users (beacuse they did not see the notification or did not want to actually do the update).
      3. At startup, wait for the server config retrieval before checking for updates.

        Attachments

          Activity

            People

            • Votes:
              0 Vote for this issue
              Watchers:
              2 Start watching this issue

              Dates

              • Created:
                Updated:
                Resolved:

                Time Tracking

                Estimated:
                Original Estimate - Not Specified
                Not Specified
                Remaining:
                Remaining Estimate - 0 minutes
                0m
                Logged:
                Time Spent - 1 day, 6 hours, 35 minutes
                1d 6h 35m

                  PagerDuty

                  Error rendering 'com.pagerduty.jira-server-plugin:PagerDuty'. Please contact your Jira administrators.